Gorbachev, Obama, Dalai Lama. Who received the Nobel Peace Prize before Dmitry Muratov

Friday brought unexpected news: Dmitry Muratov, a long-time editor of Novaya Gazeta, became a Nobel Peace Prize winner. Together with him, Filipino journalist Maria Ressa received the award.

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded since 1901. During this time, 98 awards were presented. Last year, in 2020, the prize went to the humanitarian organization World Food Programme, which combat hunger in conflict-affected areas of the world.
In 2009, the 44th President of the United States, Barack Obama, became the winner. He was awarded for his outstanding efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation among peoples.
In 2007, the Peace Prize went to former US presidential candidate Al Gore for efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change.
In 1993, Nelson Mandela was awarded the Peace Prize for his work for the peaceful termination of the apartheid regime, and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa.


In 1990, the first and last president of the USSR, Mikhail Gorbachev, became the winner.

A year before Gorbachev, the award went to the 14th Dalai Lama "for advocating peaceful solutions based upon tolerance and mutual respect in order to preserve the historical and cultural heritage of his people."
1979. The winner is Mother Teresa for her work for bringing help to suffering humanity.
In 1975, the Soviet physicist Andrei Sakharov received the Peace Prize for his struggle for human rights in the Soviet Union, for disarmament and cooperation between all nations.
1964. The Peace Prize is awarded to the American preacher Martin Luther King, the most famous activist for the rights of Afro-American population.
The winner of the very first award was a Swiss entrepreneur, founder of the International Committee of the Red Cross, Henri Dunant.